Monday , November 27 2023

Police in Zimbabwe now Forced to Learn 16 Languages, including Sign Language

Government in Zimbabwe has widened the training of Police officers to include learning of 16 languages provided in the country’s constitution. The training of police has also been extended from 6 months to one year to accommodate the training programme.

This was made known by the Home Affairs Deputy Minister, Obegingwa Nguni when she spoke to parliament on steps taken to teach the police sign language to assist the deaf.

The languages are Chewa, Chibrawe, English, Kalanga, Koisan, Nambya,Ndau, Ndebele, Shangani, Shona, sign language, Sotho, Tonga, Tswana, Venda, and Xhosa. All these languages are provided for in the nation’s constitution.


For more, see:


View: What do you think about police in Nigeria learning several languages, including sign language?

READ ALSO  Update! Woman’s House Finally Begins to Crack Inside as She is Trapped by Lockdown in Owerri (Photos)

About Chinenye Nwabueze

Nwabueze is a writer with passion for cutting-edge news

Check Also

Florida student knocks out teacher then pummels her unconscious body after she seized his Nintendo Switch during class (video)

A 17-year-old student at Matanzas High School in Palm Coast, Florida was arrested after he …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: