Information Hub of the Nigerian Mass Media

List of Radio Stations in Imo State (2019)

The broadcast media landscape in Imo State, which is regulated by the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) comprises of six private stations, two government-owned and two owned by higher institutions. These radio stations are as follows:

1. Heartland FM; 100.5 MHz; Owerri. Owned by Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN). Slogan: Voice of the Eastern Heartland. Established in 2003.

2. Orient FM; 94.4 MHz; Owerri. Owned by Imo Broadcasting Corporation. Slogan: The Clearest Voice East of the Niger. Established in 1976.

3. Hot FM; 99.5 MHz; Owerri. Owned by Spectrum Broadcasting Limited. Slogan: Blazing the Trail. Since January 2018, it changed to ‘More than just Radio’. Established in 2010.

4. Zanders FM; 105.7 MHz; Owerri. Owned by Stable Media International Limited. Slogan: … And the Beat Goes On. Established in 2015.

5. Megaband FM; 97.3 MHz; Owerri. Owned by Protech Global Technology Limited. Slogan: Revolving around you with a difference and excellence. Established in 2015.

6. My Radio FM; 101.1 MHz; Akabo. Owned by Ideal Media Independent Broadcasting Network Limited. Slogan: What radio should be. Established in 2016.

7. Darling FM; 107 MHz; Owerri. Owned by Darl Capital System Limited. Slogan: None.

8. Federal Polynek FM; 103.2 MHz; Nekede. Owned by Federal Polytechnic, Nekede. Slogan: None.

9. IMSU Star FM; 90.9 MHz; Owerri. Owned by Imo State University. Slogan: None

10. Gold FM – 89.3 Owerri, Owned by Ideal Media Independent Broadcasting Network Limited.


ALSO SEE Approved Campus Radio Stations in the Southeastern States of Nigeria

READ ALSO  Falana Files N200M Suit Against DSS For Detaining Journalist For Two Years

The Author

Chinenye Nwabueze

He is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Mass Communication, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, COOU, (formerly Anambra State University), Igbariam Campus.

1 Comment

Add a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MassMediaNG © 2019
%d bloggers like this: